Wiki, Wiki, Wikinomics!

MySpace vs Facebook  

By no means am am I expert at MySpace or Facebook, as I am still navigating my way through Facebook, and had it not been for class I would have never signed up! However, after looking at the examples mentioned in our class blog and taking what I have heard via my friends who are into social networking, MySpace appears to have a younger demographic, the majority of its users are not as educated, don’t make a high income…its younger, therefore maybe less sophisticated.  Many of my college friends had a MySpace page before joining Facebook and don’t use MySpace anymore for those reasons. Facebook appears to have a little older demographic, college, post college users, with a higher income, more sophisticated and savvy.  I find that I actually have many of my older college friends on Facebook, they are 30 +.  Also from looking at the “10 Best Facebook Applications for Business Professionals,” you can see the difference in this social network; it is catering to a young professional who not only wants to connect with friends, but networks as well.  A few of my favorite features that I want to check out are the Phonebook, Workin’It, & What I Do. the Defineme which creates like a “personality cloud” could be interesting to view as well.

Regarding friendship on-line, I think this works because it’s comfortable, you don’t have to pick up the phone after so many years to try and catch up and reconnect with friends and collegues…Facebook and MySpace really make it easy to find people you know and reconnect.  I think that is why it works.  I agree with Jeff Jarvis’s Buzz Machine blog on Friendship being complicated –you lump everyone together as your friend even though there are people you haven’t talk to in years, and probably wont interact with again, besides accepting them as a friend…its interesting!

Do we need a Bill of Rights for the Social Web

After reading Wickinomics and listening to the lectures in class, my vote on whether the social web needs to have a set of rules that govern it would be yes.  To what degree I am not sure.  Having a set of rules or laws may seem contradictory since the “Social Web” is about openness, collectiveness, and participation.  In this “new age” no where does it talk about the Social Web being restricted by rules or laws.  However, I think when you look at examples of N-Gens posting photos and having those photos and the information they are posting affecting them 5, 10, 20 years down the road that is something to think about. All the data being saved, and at the disposal of…well we don’t know who it raises some questions.   I had never really thought about all the repercussions of posting information, personal information, on the web, or interacting on the Social Web in that way.  When I think of my youngest brother who is 18, he has not really thought about the information he is posting and who might have access to that information, he is just being social.  So on one side you have this great new medium to reconnect with old friends, meet new friends, build relationships, network, participate, publish, have a voice, etc….but on the other hand there is this reservation about not posting to much information, not really expressing oneself fully, it holds you back.    Even further, will we find that we are being judged by employers looking at your friends on Facebook because they don’t fit the right profile?  I had no idea until it was mentioned in class that employers check you out on these social networks!

In regards to Wikinomics, a collaborative economy involving these 7 new models:

Peer Pioneers, Ideagoers, Prosumers, New Alexandrians, Platforms for Participation, Global Plant Floor, & Wiki Workplace

I think with time and more interest from companies wanting to jump in to this way of business there is going to have to be some regulations –especially in regards to the economic part, monetary compensation.  I had a hard time trying to apply this way of thinking to the industry that I am in, for software companies and companies like Procter and Gamble this social web environment makes sense and has proven to do wonders for these companies.  But how do you apply this to the trades and home-building?

Lastly, I think there is something to be said for companies like Apple and Sony not sharing and keeping control, right?

One response to “Wiki, Wiki, Wikinomics!

  1. I guess if I represented a company, I would be really hesitant to share my information with the world, especially when secrecy and surprise have been winning ingredients. However, IBM and Goldcorps’ success after openning info is pretty remarkable. A key similarity between them is that they were open for specific reasons. Maybe if your company could identify areas to benefit from openness, it’d be worth a try.

Leave a Reply

